Announcing the winners of the Most Innovative Use of Technology in Assessment and Best Transformational Project in the 2021 International e-Assessment Awards

Winners of the 2021 International e-Assessment Awards

The e-Assessment Association is delighted to announce the winners of the Most Innovative Use of Technology in Assessment and Best Transformational Project in the 2021 International e-Assessment Awards. This is the fifth year of the e-Assessment Awards programme which encompasses all sectors of education: from schools, through further and higher education to workplace training and professional exams. In 2021 the Award Winners are being announced at the International e-Assessment Conference and Awards which takes place over four online events in June.

The winners are:

Most Innovative Use of Technology in Assessment sponsored by Vretta

  • Bolton College FirstPass.

Best Transformational Project sponsored by RM

  • Cirrus Assessment and Chartered Accountants Ireland.

The winners were announced at the second event in the e-Assessment Association Conference and Awards, Celebrating the Champions of Change on 15th June 2021.

Congratulating the award winners, keynote speaker Rory McCorkle, PhD, Senior Vice President of Business Development & Client Success from PSI said, “The opportunity to be a part of the Celebrating the Champions of Change event has given me a particular appreciation for individuals who have propelled change in our industry, so it is a pleasure to celebrate them with the 2021 International e-Assessment Conference & Awards. One of the many areas that COVID has disrupted has been the so-called skills gap. Fundamentally, the continued challenges on the part of post-secondary institutions to prepare people for 21st century jobs have existed for some time – while COVID has simply exacerbated them and shone a greater spotlight on the issues. Those organisations that have continued to transform through the use of alternative models of training, flexible assessment, embracing technologies that support learning and collaboration, and addressing transferable skill sets, are at the forefront of addressing the gap. This innovation and change from organisations during the current climate is what will help us to support our global workforce to rebuild and prosper.”

Matt Wingfield, eAA Chief Executive and one of the 28 independent judges for this year’s Awards said, “There were a record number of entries to these two categories, with the judges being particularly impressed by the scale and diversity of the projects. Many of the projects demonstrated great attention to detail and demonstrated determination by all of the entrants to use technology to make a difference to assessment, whether by incorporating AI, Virtual Reality, use of digital badges, or indeed by deploying e-assessment at scale in areas where previously pen and paper examinations were the only option. What really impressed the judging panels was that the winning projects are, in fact, a stage in a longer and evolving journey.”

Tim Burnett, chairman of the e-Assessment Association, added, “Every year, the Awards shine the spotlight on those who are making a positive contribution to e-assessment and help share best practice, innovation and research in technology-enabled assessment. Congratulations to all the winners and finalists with the high quality of submissions a true testament to the continuing calibre of those within the sector, with the international nature of submissions demonstrating the increasing reach of e-assessment right across the globe.”